Division of Science

Programs

General

External

Session

Contact

Department of Mathematics
The City College of New York
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031

Phone: (212) 650-5346
Fax: (212) 650-6294
math@ccny.cuny.edu

Mathematics Colloquium talks in 2014

Thu Feb 13 Total Variation Data Analysis - A Non-linear Spectral Framework for Machine Learning
1 PM, NAC 6113
Xavier Bresson (University of Lausanne)
Tue Feb 18 Stochastic Spacial Models for some Naturally Occurring Phenomena
1 PM, NAC 6113
Shirshendu Chatterjee (NYU)
Tue Feb 25 The dimer model on the hexagonal lattice
1 PM, NAC 6121
Sevak Mkrtchyan (Carnegie Mellon University)
Wed Feb 26 Alternating Projection, Ptychography and High Dimensional Phase Retrieval
1 PM, NAC 6113
Hau-tieng Wu (Stanford University)
Thu Mar 13 PDEs and geometric applications
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Natasa Sesum (Rutgers University)
Thu Mar 27 Spectra for non-selfadjoint differential operators
1 PM, NAC 6113
Michael Hitrik (UCLA)
Mon Apr 7 Spacelike manifolds with bounded Hawking mass
1 PM, NAC 1/511E
Dr. Christina Sormani (Lehman College and CUNY GC)
Wed Apr 9 Galois representations
4 PM, NAC 1/511E
Dr. David Savitt (University of Arizona)
Thu Apr 10 Tensor spaces, braid groups, and some remarkable quotients
1:55 PM, NAC 6113
Dr. Zajj Daugherty (Dartmouth College)
Metric characterization of the Radon-Nikodym property in Banach spaces
3 PM, NAC 6113
Mikhail I. Ostrovskii (St. John's University)
Thu Apr 17 TBA
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Paolo Piccione (University of Sao Paulo)
Thu May 1 Central Limit Theorems for the Variations of Hermite processes
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Alexandra Chronopoulou (CCNY)
Thu May 8 ON THE NEW THEORY OF LINEAR DYNAMICAL SYSTEMS
1 PM, NAC 6/113
ELI GLASNER (TEL AVIV UNIVERSITY)
Thu Sep 4 High dimensional expanders and Ramanujan complexes
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Alex Lubotzky (Hebrew University; visiting NYU)
Thu Oct 2 Model Theory and Exponentiation
1 PM, NAC 6/113
David Marker (University of Illinois, Chicago)
Thu Oct 9 Counting Orders in Number Fields
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Nathan Kaplan (Yale)
Thu Oct 23 Filling multiples of embedded curves
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Robert Young (NYU)
Thu Nov 13 Computability and complexity of Julia sets.
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Michael Yampolsky (University of Toronto)
Thu Nov 20 Introduction to Interval analysis
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Raazesh Sainudiin (University of Canterbury, Christchurch NZ, visiting Cornell University)
Thu Dec 4 Unique continuation and recent progress on Landis’ conjecture
1 PM, NAC 6/113
Blair Davey (University of Minnesota)

You may return to the Mathematics Colloquium webpage. The next year with talks is 2015. The previous year with talks is 2013.