Division of Science

Programs

General

External

Session

Contact

Department of Mathematics
The City College of New York
160 Convent Avenue
New York, NY 10031

Phone: (212) 650-5346
Fax: (212) 650-6294
math@ccny.cuny.edu

Mathematics Colloquium talks in 2018

Thu Mar 1 Robust inference with the knockoff filter.
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Rina Foygel Barber (University of Chicago)
Thu Mar 8 Self Convexity
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Gregorio Malajovich (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro)
Thu Mar 22 Comparing Songs without Listening: From Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science to Music and Back Again
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Katherine Kinnaird (Brown University)
Thu Mar 29 Ergodic Eaton Lens configurations in the plane
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Martin Schmoll (Clemson University)
Thu Apr 19 Influence Maximization in Networks: Spread Models and Optimization Methods
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Gwen Spencer (Smith College)
Thu May 3 Applying Representation Theory to Random Walks
12:30 PM, NAC 6/113
Angela Hicks (Lehigh University)
Thu Sep 13 The frog model on trees
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Tobias Johnson (College of Staten Island (CUNY))
Thu Oct 11 Maximal Volume Entropy Rigidity for $RCD^*(-(N-1),N)$ (Joint work with Connell, Dai, Nunez-Zimbron, Suarez-Serrato, Wei)
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Raquel Perales (Instituto de Matemáticas, UNAM)
Thu Oct 18 Windings of closed geodesics
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Claire Burrin (Rutgers University)
Thu Nov 8 Multiscale substitution schemes and Kakutani sequences of partitions.
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Yotam Smilansky (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Mon Nov 12 Bernoulli shifts and entropy theory
3 PM, NAC 5/102
Brandon Seward (NYU)
Tue Nov 13 Joint Structural Break Detection and Parameter Estimation in High-Dimensional Non-Stationary VAR Models
2 PM, NAC 1/511A
Abolfazl Safikhani (Columbia U.)
Thu Nov 15 On local residual finiteness of abstract commensurators of Fuchsian groups
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Khalid Bou-Rabee (CCNY)
Thu Nov 29 Applications of CLTs and homogenization for Dyson Brownian Motion to Random Matrix Theory
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Philippe Sosoe (Cornell U.)
Thu Dec 6 Trees, entropy, and the Mandelbrot set
12:30 PM, NAC 6/114
Giulio Tiozzo (University of Toronto)

You may return to the Mathematics Colloquium webpage. The next year with talks is 2019. The previous year with talks is 2017.