Forgot password?


Department of Mathematics
The City College of New York
NAC 8/133
Convent Ave at 138th Street
New York, NY 10031

Phone: (212) 650-5346
Fax: (212) 650-6294

CCNY :: Division of Science :: Mathematics

Department of Mathematics


Two undergraduate students excel on the Putnam exam (05/15/2017)

The Putnam examination is a nationwide mathematics examination requiring exceptional ability and creativity to achieve a non-zero score. Two CCNY seniors, Allen Kim and Gatuam Ramasubramanian, did exceptionally well, placing 408th and 813th nationwide. Congratulations to both, who will graduate in Spring 2017!

11 CCNY Mathematics students to begin doctoral programs with support (05/15/2017)

Eleven students finishing their MS degrees in Spring 2017 will begin doctoral programs in Fall 2017 with institutional financial support at a number of excellent institutions, including the University of Minnesota, the University of Waterloo, the University of Illinois, Arizona State University, Syracuse University, the CUNY Graduate Center, the University of Pennsylvania, and Stevens Institute of Technology.

The mathematics department congratulates all graduates!

Professor Brooke Feigon receives the President's Outstanding Service Award! (05/09/2017)

Prof. Brooke Feigon is the recipient of the President's Outstanding Service Award. This award recognizes both the creativity and commitment of a full-time faculty member and the impact that s/he has had on student learning through a combination of innovative approaches in mentoring, research, teaching and/or scholarship. Awards will be made annually to up to three faculty members who have demonstrated extraordinary service to students, to scholarship and to the College. This award recognizes the importance of faculty participation in the governance of the institution and its significant impact on the College and the greater College community.

Kenneth Arrow, CCNY Graduate & Nobel Laureate, has died (02/23/2017)

Kenneth Joseph "Ken" Arrow (August 23, 1921 – February 21, 2017) was an American economist, writer, and political theorist. He was the joint winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics with John Hicks in 1972. To date, he is the youngest person to have received this award, at 51.
In economics, he was a figure in post-World War II neo-classical economic theory. Many of his former graduate students have gone on to win the Nobel Memorial Prize themselves. His most significant works are his contributions to social choice theory, notably "Arrow's impossibility theorem", and his work on general equilibrium analysis. He has also provided foundational work in many other areas of economics, including endogenous growth theory and the economics of information.
Arrow remained active on the international scene through a variety of initiatives including trustee of Economists for Peace and Security and a member of the Advisory Board of Incentives for Global Health, the not-for-profit behind the Health Impact Fund until his death.